I’ve just come back from an IT Governance conference presented by ISACA and ITGI, and I don’t think I’ve ever heard as many references to Business/IT Alignment in such a short period of time!  I know I’ve been saying for a couple of years that this is the up&coming hot topic, but it appears to be pervasive now.  Every organization, industry and executive is searching for the elusive ‘holy grail’ that will provide alignment of their business strategy with the IT agenda.  Unfortunately, most of them are looking in the wrong place – trying desperately to take something that currently exists in IT and turn it into a magic bullet for alignment.  It’s just a matter of time before they reach the same conclusion I did some time ago: Business/IT Alignment isn’t a one time project, but a change to the culture, communications and business processes within an organization.  We have a distinct advantage for taking this to our clients because we’re (still) ahead of the pack.   Now we just need to find the clients who are ready to ask the right questions!